The awards will be presented on the national day of mourning for the execution of the Arad Martyrs, October 6, at the Batthyány Memorial. The patron of this year's award ceremony, the winner of the 2020 Count Lajos Batthyány Prize, is Reformed Bishop Zoltán Balog, Pastoral President of the Synod. The deadline for nominations is July 15.

The Hungarian Batthyány Foundation established the Count Lajos Batthyány and Countess Antonia Zichy awards in 2019, which are given to individuals who respond to the social, economic and political challenges of our time in a practical and pragmatic way, in proportion to the opportunities and necessities of the situation. In this way, they strengthen the betterment of the Hungarian nation, the success of Hungary, its international recognition, the preservation and renewal of farming traditions, the unity of small communities and the family, the promotion of religious and universal values, the development of science, culture, art and education. Cash prizes are awarded to the winners.

Margit Batthyány Schmidt, President of the Hungarian Batthyány Foundation, stressed that "for the second time
This is the second time that we have presented our awards, which means that we have succeeded in creating a tradition. It is a special honour for us that this year's award ceremony is being presided over by the Most Reverend Bishop Zoltán Balog, the recipient of the Count Lajos Batthyány Prize 2020. I believe that the past year has been a challenging and difficult time for all of us, but it has also created the opportunity for everyday heroes to be born among us who have demonstrated their ability, patriotism, humanity and selflessness."

As in the previous year, the foundation has set up an independent professional jury for the selection of the 2021 award winners. István Monok, director general of the Library and Information Center of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences; Nikoletta Pallós, director general of the Lajos Batthyány Foundation; Teri Tordai, Kossuth and Mari Jászai Prize-winning actress, and Zsuzsanna J. Újváry, historian, retired associate professor.

As last year, the Foundation will provide the opportunity for nominations this year. Nominations can be sent to [email protected] by 15 July, with the names of the men and women whom the nominator considers deserving of the award.

A short film about the call for nominations is available here.