Are you sure?

EU welcomes ratification of Lisbon Treaty by three countries

The Slovenian EU presidency welcomed on Thursday the endorsement of the Lisbon Treaty by the parliaments of Portugal, Denmark and Austria.

Portuguese deputies passed the ratification bill on Wednesday, while the treaty was ratified by the Danish and Austrian parliaments on Thursday. “The treaty represents a solid and relevant basis for further shaping our common European future,” the presidency said in its statement.

So far, the document has been ratified by parliaments of Hungary, Slovenia, Malta, Romania, France, Bulgaria, Poland, Slovakia, Portugal, Denmark and Austria. The document, which was signed by the EU heads of state and government last December in Lisbon, will make EU’s much needed institutional reforms possible and strengthen its role in the world. The entry into force of the treaty requires the ratification of all the 27 member states of the EU. Monitoring the ratification of the treaty is one of Slovenia’s priorities as the EU presidency during the H1 of 2008. (Xinhua)