Are you sure?

EU warns Hungary over telecom rules

The European Commission on Tuesday said it started legal action against 20 member states, including Hungary, for failing to implement in full new rules on telecommunications companies into national law by the deadline on May 25, 2011.

The Commission has sent requests for information, in the form of "letters of formal notice", to the member states.

The new rules give businesses and consumers new rights regarding phones, mobile services and internet access, including the right for customers to switch service providers in just one day without changing their phone number, the right to more clarity about the services customers are offered and better protection of personal data online.

In addition to Hungary, the Commission launched legal action against Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.

The twenty member states are due to reply to the letters of formal notice within two months. If they fail to reply or if the Commission is not satisfied with the answer, it may send the member states concerned a formal request to implement the legislation, in the form of a "reasoned opinion", and ultimately refer them to the Court of Justice of the European Union.