Are you sure?

EC warns 11 members against discrimination in employment

The European Commission Thursday warned 11 member states for a second time against their failure to fully implement European Union rules against discrimination in employment.

The 11 EU countries are the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Greece, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands and Sweden. These countries have two months to respond. But the commission may take them to court, should they fail to respond or fail to respond in a satisfactory way. “Equal treatment in employment is crucial for people to have a fair chance of contributing to the economy and participating in social life,” said Vladimir Spidla, EU commissioner for employment, social affairs and equal opportunities. But the EU directives cannot reach their full potential if they are not fully and correctly transposed into national laws, Spidla said. The Employment Equality Directive was agreed in 2000 with a deadline for transposition into national law by December 2003. The commission, the executive body of the EU, also issued a first warning to Germany and complementary letters of first warning to Latvia and Lithuania on Thursday. (